Victims of labor exploitation – falling between the cracks? Discussion
Loading Events

All Events

  • This event has passed.

November 30 @ 1:00 pm - 2:30 pm GMT

Victims of labor exploitation – falling between the cracks? Discussion

Join HEUNI, the European Institute for Crime Prevention and Control for a discussion on addressing labor exploitation in the European context. Labor exploitation is a high gain-low risk crime, but many countries fail to sufficiently and efficiently address it.

This webinar will engage researchers in a discussion on how to address impunity, how to ensure that sanctions are sufficient, and how to ensure that victims get access to justice and remedy. The webinar will present new research from the European Institute for Crime Prevention and Control (HEUNI) on how different European countries tackle labor exploitation, and what gaps exist in these approaches. Three prominent researchers will provide commentaries from the perspectives of the UK, Belgium and the Netherlands, and Norway.

Programme:

13:00 (GMT) / 15:00 (EET) – opening remarks

Research presentation Anniina Jokinen, Anna-Greta Pekkarinen (HEUNI, Finland): 10 minutes

Panel discussion with:
Jon Davies (University of Manchester, UK);
Anette Brunovskis (Fafo Institute for Labour and Social Research, Norway);
Amy Weatherburn (Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium).

Chair: Natalia Ollus (HEUNI, Finland)

Closing remarks

14:30 (GMT) / 16:30 (EET) – end of the event

Add this event to

Details

November 30 @ 1:00 pm - 2:30 pm GMT

Venue

Online

Organizer

HEUNI, the European Institute for Crime Prevention and Control