Forced Labour Fashion: How the Uyghur Crisis Taints Our Clothes - FreedomUnited.org
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Forced Labour Fashion: How the Uyghur Crisis Taints Our Clothes

December 2, 2020 @ 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm UTC-5

A special panel discussion on one of the most serious modern slavery crises of our time will mark the International Day for the Abolition of Slavery on Wednesday December 2 at 12pm ET, 5pm UTC (GMT) and 6pm CET.

Hundreds of thousands of Uyghurs and other Turkic and Muslim people in China are trapped in a system of ‘re-education’ as part of the biggest detention of an ethno-religious group since World War II.

The event will focus in particular on how this crisis links to the global fashion industry, which sources vast quantities of yarn and cotton produced through what are essentially state-sponsored forced labor programs.

Panelists include:

Jewher Ilham, Program Associate at the Worker Rights Consortium and daughter of imprisoned Uyghur scholar Ilham Tohti

Rahima Mahmut, UK project director at our partner organization World Uyghur Congress

Raphaël Glucksmann MEP, journalist, director, and a prominent voice on the Uyghur crisis in the European Parliament

Chloe Cranston, Business and Human Rights Manager at our partner organization Anti-Slavery International

 

You can register for our event here: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_CLX1faVTSkmQIEDrmgC_IA

Details

Date:
December 2, 2020
Time:
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm UTC-5
Website:
https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_CLX1faVTSkmQIEDrmgC_IA

Organizer

Freedom United
Website:
https://www.freedomunited.org

Venue

Online